Thursday, March 24, 2016

Forever in Ocala

Blog Tour for Forever in Ocala
By Connie Y. Harris



In this dramatic and humorous debut novel by Connie Y. Harris, equine vet Ariel Armstrong, hides in plain sight on a horse farm to protect not only her heart, but her life. But when her vindictive ex-boyfriend still manages to find her, it’s up to Navy SEAL, Gavin Cross, to come to her rescue. Fans of Suzanne Brockman and Roxanne St. Claire will love this sexy romance from The Wild Rose Press.
Follow the tour and enter to #WIN a grand prize $20 gift card to Amazon or runner-up prizes including 5 eBook copies of Forever in Ocala!
Enter at: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/YjA1MGVmMjkwYTE2NWQzYWI3ODNiODExNGJiNGU0OjE5Ng==/?
Rafflecopter embed code:


Visit any of these participating blogs for your chance to win!

March 21st The Literary Swing Review Stop
March 21st Yearwood Daily Book Review Excerpt Stop
March 22nd What Is That Book About Excerpt Stop
March 22nd Reviews from the Heart Review on Blog
March 22nd Rainne's Ramblings Excerpt Stop
March 23rd Just Booked Excerpt Stop
March 23rd The Book Quarry Guest Post
March 24th Long and Short Reviews Excerpt Stop
March 24th Lisa's Louisiana Home Guest Post
March 24th OMGReads Excerpt Stop
March 25th Jen's Reading Obsession Excerpt Stop
March 25th T&L Book Reviews Guest Post  
March 28th Book Reviews & More by Kathy Excerpt Stop
March 28th EskieMama Reads  Review Stop
March 29th Splashes Into Books Interview
March 29th Those Crazy Book Chicks Excerpt Stop
March 30th Mikky's World Of Books Excerpt Stop
March 30th Room With Books Excerpt Stop
March 31st Swept Away By Romance Guest Post
April 1st Nice Ladies, Naughty Books Excerpt Stop
April 1st Evermore Books Excerpt Stop
April 1st Southern Yankee Book Reviews Review on Blog


Title: Forever in Ocala
Series: The Forever series
Author: Connie Y. Harris
Author Location: Tampa, Florida
Genre: Contemporay Romance
Release Date: March 16, 2016
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Format: Digitial
ISBN: 978-1-5092-0644-5

Synopsis:

Can the healing power of love prevail over the high stakes demands of duty and personal sacrifice?

Determined to protect her life and heal her broken heart, Ariel Armstrong seeks a refuge from her violent ex-boyfriend. Her dream job working with prized race horses, as an equine vet, enables her to hide in plain sight and care for her brother, an injured Marine. After losing her father to war and witnessing her brother’s daily battle to overcome his injuries, she’s sworn off military men forever.

Gavin Cross, Navy SEAL, and the son of Ariel’s new boss has one mission in life -- to serve his country. But after showing signs of PTSD, he’s sent home where he struggles against the diagnosis and vows to get back to the action ASAP. The last problem he needs is an emotional entanglement with the beautiful, new farm vet. Denying the attraction between them only stirs the fire of their growing passion. Gavin must choose where his duty lies -- with his country or at home with the woman he loves and wants to protect. Leaving Ariel to rejoin his SEAL team means fulfilling his mission, but at what cost? The promise of her love tempts him in an undeniable way and has him questioning his need to serve. Gavin’s time to choose is up. A future without Ariel is no future at all, but is saving America from terrorism the greater good?

Available at: Amazon | The Wild Rose Press


Excerpt from FOREVER IN OCALA
Copyright © 2016 by Connie Y. Harris

          Her gaze flicked to an imposing male figure planted directly in her line of vision, his stance wide, wearing leather combat boots seemingly bolted to the earth. Whoever the man was, he surveyed every detail of his environment with the presence of someone whose self-confidence couldn’t easily be shaken. He carried himself like he belonged here. Hell, like he owned the place. The startling combination of blue eyes, the color of glacier water, against an olive complexion and full black beard created a commanding presence.  Glued like a sentry next to the man, Wager, the farm’s Border collie exuded absolute devotion with his tongue lolling out and head tilted up to the hand stroking him.
     Jesus, who IS that dude? He can’t be a new buyer interested in our foals the way Wager is fawning all over him but he’s someone important, no doubt. Focus Ariel, you’re here to work, not get infatuated with the first cowboy who comes along.
     As if he sensed her curiosity, the enigmatic stranger turned his attention toward her. The intensity of his stare invaded her comfort zone as he coolly and completely assessed her with a visual review of her body that left her feeling undressed. The hair on her arms stood erect. She rubbed them as if removing a chill. The physical reaction was her own intuitive warning system and experience had taught her to listen to her body. She understood all too well about arrogant, possessive men.  Her controlling ex-boyfriend was a moral zero and the most deceptive man she’d ever met. The image of him sent shivers skidding down her spine but she quickly thrust the memories aside.  He’s out of my life and nowhere near here.
     Ariel slid the dog tags back and forth on the chain she wore around her neck….






Author Bio:
With close ties to the Navy SEAL community, Connie’s mission as a writer is to offer the reader a realistic portrayal of men who transfer their alpha tendencies and athletic prowess into serving a noble cause.
A former English teacher and corporate executive Connie holds a B.A from East Carolina University. Although she continues her role as Vice President in a busy ad agency, her first love has always been writing. She maintains a portfolio of songs, poems and stories she wrote as early as ten. When she isn’t working or writing, Connie enjoys Zumba fitness and claims her best story ideas come to her while dancing.
Connie lives with her family and two adorable Westies near the Gulf Coast of Florida.
Find Connie at: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Author's  Guest Post-  Why horses in this book? 

I discovered my love of horses at the age of three while on a trip with my father, exploring the back roads of Arizona.  We passed a field of grazing equine beauties and I was immediately smitten.  I begged him to stop the car, which he did, but before he could come around to open my door, I crawled out of the seat and scampered to the fence, thrusting my hand between the rows of barbed wire. Between arm waving, calling hello and a hidden apple in my father’s pocket, one of the chestnut males wandered over to investigate. At first the sheer size of the animal intimidated me but when he lowered his head to breath in my scent, I gazed into his soft brown eyes. My father put the apple in my flattened palm and steadied my wrist as the horse’s velvet muzzle mouthed the apple and gently took it from me. For the rest of the trip I dreamed of one day owning my own four-legged beast and what I would name him.
The wish came true and a palomino quarter horse named Buckshot entered my life. I have a picture sitting atop him, my feet too short to touch the stirrups, sporting a permed hairdo courtesy of my mother.
I passed my lifelong love to my daughter who graduated from Veterinary College and now practices equine medicine.
My book is dedicated to her and all the women like her who chose this physically demanding profession which is undeniable harder and less lucrative than human medicine but rewarding beyond measure.

By the way, there is a dog in my book.  His name is Wager and he is the trigger for the romantic spark between the hero and heroine. 






The Old Fashioned Alpha